RTT annex question

4runnersb

I bought a RTT with annex from Geo Adventure Gear from Venezuela. I like it so far and it looks like a descent quality tent. The first time I took it out it rained lightly for a few hours with virtually no wind blowing. The annex leaked very bad from the upper and lower zippers. It was coming in through the rain flaps that go over the zippers and siphoning right through the zippers. There was literally a pool of water on the floor. Nothing was touching the tent where it was leaking. I contacted them and they informed me all other makers' annexes leaked just the same. I find that hard to believe. Does anyone else have any experience with camping in the rain with their annex? Did yours leak? I ordered some LiquidOff to put all around the rain flap over the zippers. Has anyone used that stuff before?

lugueto

Adventurer
I have no experience with RTT Annexes and rain, but being venezuelan I do have experience with their customer service. In short, IT SUCKS. They will never admit their product is at flaw, even when it obviously is, so don't believe them when they say other people's products fail in the same way as theirs (which is an admittance to failure in the first place).

Their tents used to be pretty good quality items, they used to sell some decent chinese ones and they had a venezuelan brand make a tent for them (The Brand was Mare, awesome quality, 100% venezuelan built with great materials). This being said you still can't compare them to the likes of ARB, CVT or any recognized quality tent. I don't think a 2000$ tent would have such bad zippers (when they explicitly spec quality zippers, for example) or such crappy customer service.

If I were you, I would simply use a chemical treatment to repel water and avoid it from leaking in as much as I could. I assume you're not in Venezuela and you can't visit GEO as to complain directly to them?

4runnersb