Shooting Platform

H2O_Doc

Adventurer
Do any of you use a shooting platform (photos not critters) on your rigs? I saw one the other day and it looked useful (unable to ask the owner about it however). My one concern would be making something stable enough for an 800mm lens. If you have examples or thoughts, please advise.

Thanks in advance,

Paul

mountainpete

Spamicus Eliminatus
800 mm is a heavy lens and I have no direct experience with something of that size. But have you tried the simple route first? Something like this:

http://www.rue.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=4_5&products_id=7

e463.JPG

It can be draped over the window sill and then just raise/lower your window until it's at the right height.

Pete

H2O_Doc

Adventurer
Need to get high

I'd like a platform on top of the truck to get a little hight while shooting....gotta get above the reeds.

Thanks,

Paul

H2O_Doc

Adventurer
Currently, I have a '93 Toyota PU but am looking to get either a Tacoma (crew cab) or Xterra (2007 or 2008 for whichever I get). Its really more for the future vehicle than the current. That choice is a whole other matter of distress (I just cant make up my mind).

Paul
www.wagnerphotographic.com

Gear

Explorer, Overland Certified OC0020
That was probably my Jeep. Take a look and let me know if you have any questions.

47b7d604b3127cceba43e5d9b68b00000035108EatWzFu0cO

47b7d604b3127cceba43fa73778600000026108EatWzFu0cO

Photog

Explorer
Gear,
Yep. It was yours, that I remembered reading about. I added a link to your build page.

Your new rig is coming along nicely.

Is your new rack stable enough for lounging?

Photog

Explorer
H2O Doc,
If you build a stout roof rack, you may still want some type of stabilizers for your vehicle. Your vehicle suspension may allow too much movement, to use an 800mm lens successfully. What vehicle are you working with?

H2O_Doc

Adventurer