Solar charging - Connection protocol?

moabian

I just bought a Renogy 100-watt system for maintaining the Odyssey Group 34 battery in my Scrambler which often sits idle for weeks at a time. The instruction booklet states: "Connect battery terminal wires to the charge controller FIRST then connect the solar panel to the charge controller. NEVER connect solar panel to charge controller before the battery." Does that mean that I must now disconnect the controller from the panel every time I disconnect the battery from the controller?

I've been using a smaller panel for 15 years and always left the panel connected to the controller, simply disconnecting the clamps from the battery and hanging them on an insulated hook when not connected to the battery. I think the controller might have finally gone bad so I bought the new Renogy system.

From the instructions, it appears that I will have to attach the clamps to the battery, then connect the controller to the panel. Reversing the procedure, it seems that I would have to disconnect the controller from the panel before removing the clamps from the battery terminals. Does anyone know if the system would be damaged if I left the panel connected to the controller while not connected to the battery?

I can put a quick-disconnect between the panel and controller if necessary.

Also, the controller can be set for sealed, gel, or flooded batteries. I assumed that I would use the "sealed" setting for the Odyssey, but also read somewhere that I should use the "flooded" setting for that battery. Any input on the setting I should use?

dwh

Tail-End Charlie
The instruction booklet states: "Connect battery terminal wires to the charge controller FIRST then connect the solar panel to the charge controller. NEVER connect solar panel to charge controller before the battery." Does that mean that I must now disconnect the controller from the panel every time I disconnect the battery from the controller?