Tacoma that's 1600 lbs over GVWR... recertifying and wheeling

rruff

Explorer
Thought this was an interesting article, in light of many GVWR discussions. Apparently in PA you can get a mechanic to sign off on upping your GVWR so you'll be "legal". I don't know if this is possible in any other state. https://expeditionportal.com/is-your-overland-vehicle-overweight-here-is-a-possible-solution/

The process involves no engineering or testing. "My mechanic and I have a decades-long history of jointly handling repairs and maintenance for my vehicles, and I have a lot of experience in the vehicle maintenance business. My mechanic also had seen the build pictures of our camper as it progressed, and he knew our camper was built to a very capable and high standard. He had no problems signing the MV-41." The suspension was upgraded, and tires.

The result? "In short, it is a very capable offroad rig but came up just shy of being a rock crawler, which was our objective.... For many places that we go, people often ask, “How did that get here?”—a sign of a successful build if there ever was one."

nickw

Adventurer
Thought this was an interesting article, in light of many GVWR discussions. Apparently in PA you can get a mechanic to sign off on upping your GVWR so you'll be "legal". I don't know if this is possible in any other state. https://expeditionportal.com/is-your-overland-vehicle-overweight-here-is-a-possible-solution/

The process involves no engineering or testing. "My mechanic and I have a decades-long history of jointly handling repairs and maintenance for my vehicles, and I have a lot of experience in the vehicle maintenance business. My mechanic also had seen the build pictures of our camper as it progressed, and he knew our camper was built to a very capable and high standard. He had no problems signing the MV-41." The suspension was upgraded, and tires.