Tall person looking for RTT recommendations

lacofdfireman

Adventurer
Looking to build up my 06 Duramax as an Overland rig. I’m 6’5 275lbs and not sure what way to go as far as a Rooftop Tent. I’m 51 so I’d like some room to get in and out and possibly kneel up i side if needed. I have zero experience with the Clamshell style rooftop tents but I like their ease of setup and take down. But not sure how comfortable they would be for me at my height. They all look pretty short to me lengthwise to me. I’d be sleeping 2 people. Both my wife and I. She’s much smaller at 5’3 and 125lbs.

So for those of you experienced with both the Clamshell style or the fold out style what are your thoughts and opinions? I’ve been kinda spoiled in my Kodiak Ground tent but just looking to get off the ground and faster setup and take down. I’m most likely going to buy used as the new prices are pretty high. From what I’m seeing the Clamshell style seem to be about double the price and don’t look as comfortable or large.

What are your thoughts? What are some good ones to look at for big and tall people? Thanks.

Pic of my truck I wanna build up. Starting work on the roof rack now.

Attachments

• IMG_1864.jpeg
    IMG_1864.jpeg
    471.5 KB · Views: 4

crazysccrmd

Observer
It’s pretty straightforward to look at the manufacturer specs and see if the length is greater than 6’5” with enough height to kneel in. There are a lot of options that meet both those criteria. I’d still recommend sticking with your ground tent as you won’t find that much time savings with a RTT you have to setup and collapse every time you want to drive anywhere.

lacofdfireman

Adventurer