Time to upgrade my lift

adventure man

Hey guys, currently I am running a 2 inch budget boost with 31's on my 98 zj. Last weekend I was at the badlands and suffered a lot of wheel rubbing. I have had this lift for over a year and I would like a bigger lift.

I'm a college student so my budget is pretty tight, that is why I am considering the 3.5 inch rough country lift.http://roughcountry.com/jeep_zj_3.html I have heard that some people think rough country is crap and others say it is great. What do you guys think? Does anyone run a rough country lift?

jeep-N-montero

Expedition Leader
Why not just trim the spots that rub and save up until you can do it RIGHT the first time? I know tons of people running the RC lift and they have had to replace all of the flex joints every 5k miles and end up upgrading to better joints.

dumprat

Adventurer
I have a 2.5" with a .625 spacer rough country lift in my Lj and I like it. I run 33" tires on offset rims without rubbing. It rides nice and flexes well. You don't need to change the control arms either.

jeep-N-montero

Expedition Leader
I have a 2.5" with a .625 spacer rough country lift in my Lj and I like it. I run 33" tires on offset rims without rubbing. It rides nice and flexes well. You don't need to change the control arms either.

That's great, the LJ and ZJ are VERY different Jeeps. And I can guarantee that you are losing about 3 inches of travel with your stock arms.

motomaniac

Observer
I've never had trouble with rough country products except their drop brackets. Its hard to beat iron rocks front to rear lifts for a budget minded person as yourself.http://www.ironrockoffroad.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=IROR&Product_Code=IR-Z_3LK&Category_Code=PFZ