Tips on taking great pictures....HELP

jnelson4x4taco

Adventurer
Im a pretty decent photographer and i take good pictures with what i have (Canon Rebel 35mm and olympus d-580 digital) but i want to get better. I see all your pics you post and they are amazing, i would like to learn a few of your favorite tips. How do you position yourself for different settings like a wildlife shot, sunset/sunrise, landscape, rig, etc? Or how do you change the setings on the camera? Im sure everyone could benefit from the knowledge of others so lets hear those tips. thanks guys

neliconcept

Spirit Overland
it depends Im not a big wildlife photographer but Im getting into things like portraits which can also benefit with macro.

portraits sometimes you like to get closeups you want great background bokeh, bokeh is basically the out of focus portions of the background that bring the elements of the foreground to place. Larger aperature or (f stop) can really give that look like lets say a 2.8 f stop lens, wide open enough to give a faster shutter speed. and wide open also narrows the depth of field so when you have a narrow aperature pretty much everything from close up to far away should still be in good focus.

I may think of some other things to say or contribute later

hope some of that helps

use A or (AV) for a lot of your shots and just get used to using aperature priority

articulate

Expedition Leader
Broad topic, amigo. What do you mean by change the settings? Which settings would you like to change?

Post some of your photos in the thread and we could discuss some elements that worked well and some that didn't. That might be the best way to approach the topic.

Cheers,
Mark

pwc

Explorer
What exactly are you looking to shoot? Nature/landscape type stuff you see on a trip? People, portraits, or the like?

For some good info, check out National Geographic's site http://www.nationalgeographic.com/pathtoadventure/phototips/