To build or not to build 2024 Sierra 3500 Single cab

jrubicon

I am at a crossroads and am trying to decide what path to choose. I am the epitome of the overlanding/camping world, i camp average 2x a month. I either ride a R1250GS and camp out of my bike, or overland out of my truck camper with a sxs & or bike. I currently have a 16 sierra 1500 which serves my purpose imensely. im at 67k miles, most of these miles from trips, no commutes or daily driving.

I love my truck but i feel i want a dedicated 4x4 camper. I feel graduating to a dedicated rig, purpose built. Im looking long term. My sierra cant go offroad, its sways too much, too top heavy etc. i can do a dirt rd and i can only take it super slow. Camper is a 18 travel lite 610R w a shower, approx 1600lbs loaded w water, maybe less.

I am contemplating ordering a 2024 Sierra Regular cab 4x4 and removing the bed, building my own camper. I am a welder fabricator, but i can only do steel. I cant weld alum.
I feel can build a steel frame but dont know how id make the sides and roof.
Below are some ideas... im just hoping to get feedback...

Attachments

• F5E41B8B-64C1-41F0-9A24-2A0245958DC7.jpeg
    F5E41B8B-64C1-41F0-9A24-2A0245958DC7.jpeg
    3.9 MB · Views: 37
  • 8af383d5fc2844aeaf9ac95ca3f287c3.jpg
    8af383d5fc2844aeaf9ac95ca3f287c3.jpg
    77.1 KB · Views: 34
  • grey.PNG
    grey.PNG
    570.3 KB · Views: 34

Ozarker

Pontoon Admiral
Aluminum + VHB tape = good job.

I'd suggest you buy a used rig and modify it, even if you buy the new truck. Go now, or spend months building.

But if you enjoy fabrication, by all means, fabricate.

Or, go bigger and put that travel trailer on a truck frame, that's been done too.

Fly fisherman

Aluminum + VHB tape = good job. I'd suggest you buy a used rig and modify it, even if you buy the new truck. Go now, or spend months building. But if you enjoy fabrication, by all means, fabricate. Or, go bigger and put that travel trailer on a truck frame, that's been done too.