Trailer Battery Questions

Inkog

Observer
I was just given 3 of these batteries TC-12150c:

http://www.powerbattery.com/pdf/1222-2-0805%20PRC-12150C.pdf

Judging from the manufacture's site these are sealed AGM VRLA's rated at 140AH @ 20 hours.

I'm far from a battery expert, so I wondered if anyone can tell me if these would work well for our intended trailer uses? I want to make sure they are safe. Are their any special charging or other limitiations to these type of batteries?

The batteries are from huge UPS systems providing backup power for a data warehouse. They are used but I know they are only 4 yrs old, with a 10yr rated service life. If it matters, these batteries were in banks of 40! A friend tells me he is still using a couple from the last replacement cycle 4 years ago.

Edit; I'm looking for a decent inverter/converter/charge device. Are their worth while options out there for <$200?
(You should see the $200k worth of newly installed ones :Wow1: :drool:)
Edit: I'll show you

batteries.jpg

Last edited:

R_Lefebvre

Expedition Leader
Oh no, those would be very bad for your application. Send them to me and I'll dispose of them properly for you, no charge.

;)

Robert Bills

Explorer
I agree - these batteries would be very, very bad for your trailer. Fortunately, I have a "disposal site" right in my garage. Send them to me. :drool:

762X39

Explorer
Get yourself a good battery charger that can be set to AGM. The most important key's to long battery life is not to discharge it past max depth of discharge (available on the spec sheet I would think) and to keep them properly charged with an appropriate 3 stage charger.Have fun with them:coffee:

Inkog

Observer
Well, I guess I'm OK with these batteries... :D

After reading up on the whole amp hour thing... 140Ah /20 hours = 7amps for 20 hours, or 3.5amps for 40 hours till the battery reaches 10.5v.