Tray build

skyhook88

Like to start off by saying thank you for letting me join the group.

I'm in the process of starting the design of my build. I have a 2012 Ram 3500 6' 6" box. I'm going to be building my own aluminum tray and was looking to see what other manufacturers used for the main rails? I'm thinking of going with either a 4" or 6" x 1/4 aluminum channel. What are your guys recommendation? The cross members will be 2 x 2 x .188" on 12" C/C.

I've tried to buy just a set of CAD drawing from a manufacture and have come up empty handed.

Thanks in advance.

ExpoMike

I have been researching something similar for my 2000 Ram 2500 long bed. Here's a build using aluminum. I haven't found many, most are steel and heavy.

1000arms

You might look at Duramag Truck Bodies:

IdaSHO

IDACAMPER
Id suggest visiting a dealer that carries similar beds, and take notes.

Also, as one that has built a few beds, good luck with the build.
Lots of great ways to build a bed. The latest (and likely final) bed I've built I decided to reverse the C-channel.
I wish I would have thought about doing so earlier!

So again, if I were you Id be looking hard and long at beds you can inspect yourself as to how things are put together.

Here is the latest, that performs all kinds of duties, including hauling a custom camper.
It has a steel frame, and steel rails, and skinned with aluminum.
And going with a reverse C-channel, everything from lighting to tie downs were recessed.
This bed also has a set of roll out stairs for camper access.

48514380017_902562f938_h.jpg

skyhook88

Thanks IdaSHO

Nice truck

Id suggest visiting a dealer that carries similar beds, and take notes.

Also, as one that has built a few beds, good luck with the build.
Lots of great ways to build a bed. The latest (and likely final) bed I've built I decided to reverse the C-channel.
I wish I would have thought about doing so earlier!