Trying Something New - Kayak

rkj__

Adventurer
Well, I like to spend time outdoors. Most frequently, I hop on my bicycle and ride. Mostly MTB, sometimes road. However, I've been doing that for over 10 years, and some days, I'm just not excited to ride. So, I thought maybe it would be fun to try something new.

I started looking on the local classified for kayaks. I wanted something that was light enough to handle on my own, and easy to transport in my pickup without needing fancy racking solutions. And of course, I wanted something cheap, just in case I did not really end up using it too much.

This pointed me towards beginner level boats in the 10' range. I gave myself a budget of <$300.

Before long, I found a little Dimension Escapade that looked like it would work.

null_zps2919cb73.jpg

I took it out for a paddle today, and had a good time. I launched into Lake Ontario, near the shipwreck of the Grande Hermine, and paddled into Jordan Harbor.
http://www.niagaragreenbelt.com/listings/70-monuments/900-grande-hermine-.html

IMG_0373_zps820fe6b9.jpg

Paddled by some expensive boats in the marina.

IMG_0375_zps6729bf69.jpg

IMG_0383_zps5a38ab17.jpg

IMG_0374_zps44dcea57.jpg

IMG_0378_zps9544ff71.jpg

I was delighted to see some swans as I returned to shore.

IMG_0388_zps76e53911.jpg

IMG_0391_zps62b6d207.jpg

The kayak seems good for recreational use. It feels stable, even on the waves of the great Lake Ontario. It's no trekking kayak, and does not track quite like I expect a 14-17' boat would, but that's ok.

It's super easy to slide in and out of my truck bed, and light enough to carry to the water without any struggle or assistance.

IMG_0393_zps19711e49.jpg

It's a good upper body workout to balance the cycling.

I had fun, and hope to have more fun with it moving forward.

4x4x4doors

Explorer