why a po up camper

BigDan

Observer
I have this new project ,

a camper in an 8 foot box 4x4 cummins powered pick up
we plan to go "mild" offroad trails .....I had in mind to convert my Econoline van first but changed my mind ....

being an absolute newby in campers , why should I go for a popup one .....
I understand the lower center of gravity , less grab in the wind ,,,those being the best qualities of popup campers to me .....

but what about noise and humidity ? ( I once had trailer tent that was terrible on humidity )

we plan to use the camper in cold temperature once in a while

looking for advice please ....

thanks

Dan ,

Canufixit

Observer
Well, To me it comes down to a few needs/wants and Desires and limitations......

How much do you have to spend ?? (brandy new RV - or maybe just a tent or used popup)
How much are you going to use it?
How much $$ and time are you willing to spend on repairs AND the necessary add ons needed ? (Bigger Tow Vehicle?, Added hoses, cables, Liquid containers (i.e. grey water, etc.) Firepit grates or in unit propane?
How much will you really really like roughing it and how much rough is roughing it to you ??
Other?