WR250R/X Test Drive

R_Lefebvre

Expedition Leader
Just got to test ride one. Well, it was the X Supermotard version, same deal basically. Man… is it ever nice.

I currently have an 06 WR250F, farkled with enduro armor and uncorked. I've been using it for Enduros and Hare Scrambles for a few years. But I've been wondering more and more how much I'm really into it. Worried about my family if I should crash, or the weekends that get eaten up racing. Maybe I just want to get back into doing what I did before I got into racing. Cruising the trails and backroads. I bought the WR-F thinking it would be fine for that. It's street plated ;) ;) ;) and everything but... It's loud, buzy, the chain drive clacks when cruising at certain speeds, the valve interval is really short, it's only got 5 speeds, etc. etc. etc. I've only put about 1700km on it in 3 years.

I keep thinking about the DR650, but it’s fairly heavy and the insurance much more than I'm currently paying. Actually, the insurance is a big impediment to me. It just goes with the CC’s, and it doesn’t matter that a DR650 is slow. Insurance is expensive enough in Canada. I find the current $50/month I'm paying now is pretty stupid for a bike I don't ride that much, and they want $127 for a DR650 which isn't that much more logical to me.

So anyhow, there was a Yamaha test ride event locally, so I checked it out.