A ‘convert’ FE is not a FG

mog

Kodiak Buckaroo
Posted in regards to a Fuso FG 'for sale ad'
It's a nice truck to be sure, but I just struggle with the price. You can buy a nice FE, convert to 4x4 with a Dana 60 and NP 205, and do Humvee wheels for considerably less. Again I take nothing away from this truck which I really like - just for me a struggle to get to the asking price.

Since this started in a ‘Sales Tread' I thought it best to start a new thread over here in the Fuso section, were it is more appropriate (and not a 'rule 6' violation).

I'll have to disagree, a ‘convert' FE is not a FG.
I have some experience in this, as I never thought I would find a FG in my price range and so I bought an Iveco 18-14 to convert to 4x4. I even have a divorced NP205 transfer case still sitting in my garage.
I found a great (well super outstanding steal) deal on a 2002 Fuso FG via a posting link here on the Expo Portal and bought my FG within 5 minutes of seeing the link. So I have experience in both ‘conversions' and the real deal (a FG)

First the FG has a 7-inch step-up in it's frame at the front, while the FE is a straight frame. This is to allow clearance for the front axle and the oil pan of the engine. Of course you could get the clearance on a straight frame FE with a suspension lift, but it is not the same as a factory frame/suspension set-up, and of course adds to the cost of the build.
There is nothing the matter with a Dana 60 and NP205, but you might as well plan on changing the rear axle also for a few reasons (again adding to the cost of the conversion).