Covering a tent frame

keithert

I have a truck bed tent camper called a Frogi. It has an aluminum click together frame covered by a material cover. I bought it from http://www.tentsontrucks.com/frogi The tent is designed to be left on while driving. I've driven the truck on expressways with no issues. The seller says he has driven his for hundreds of miles with no issue.

It is a nice setup with one glaring flaw. The tent material is not at all waterproof. Each of the many stitch holes lets in water and the material gets soaked as well. I've put seam sealer on all of the seams but it still leaks. I've put a tarp over it when parked which has worked well enough to keep water out but I can't drive with a tarp flapping. I'd like to make some sort of cover for the tent. A custom sized tarp is an option. The setup has such a nice frame I think it would be nice to make an aluminum or fiberglass shell. I have no experience with aluminum and a little with fiberglass. I've patched a rust hole in a SUV bed using glass cloth and resin.

I could use some ideas on how to make a cover for this tent to make it water resistant. Also the idea of covering the frame in fiberglass is intriguing.

Attachments

• 20161015_135843_HDR_resized.jpg
    20161015_135843_HDR_resized.jpg
    453.6 KB · Views: 13
  • 20161021_071120_resized.jpg
    20161021_071120_resized.jpg
    167.4 KB · Views: 14
  • 20161015_113150_resized.jpg
    20161015_113150_resized.jpg
    392.7 KB · Views: 15
  • 20161005_070144_resized.jpg
    20161005_070144_resized.jpg
    185.2 KB · Views: 15
Last edited:

The Artisan

Adventurer
You stated the fabric is not waterproof if thats the case seamsealer wont help ya. If it were mine, I use the tent material but add spacers on the tubing then come back and have a cover made out of 12 oz Vinyl Coated Polyester Fabric. Same material that nice semis use for their vinyl siding.