Disco reliable daily driver?

grox

Observer
I just sold my 04 Tacoma and I'm looking for something under $5,000 to drive as a daily driver, occasional camping trips, grocery getter, Home Depots runs, etc.

For under 5K it seems like you get a whole lot of truck with an older Disco. Just wondering why? Reliable? Labor expensive? Parts expensive? I'm a pretty good home mechanic, can I fix most things myself?

Any advice on what year to buy or look out for?

Thanks in advance.

DexGtr

Observer
i use mine as daily driver...the only complaint is the gas mileage...but overall fun truck to drive around town.

most people just suggest getting on top of maintenance to save you the headaches.

Viggen

Just here...
i use mine as daily driver...the only complaint is the gas mileage...but overall fun truck to drive around town.

most people just suggest getting on top of maintenance to save you the headaches.

I daily mine and have spent every weekend for a few weeks now underneath it catching up on POs neglected PM. They live and die by the schedule. Keep up with preventative maintenance and youll be fine. I get about 12mpg, which sucks, but I love it so I dont care.

DexGtr

Observer
I daily mine and have spent every weekend for a few weeks now underneath it catching up on POs neglected PM. They live and die by the schedule. Keep up with preventative maintenance and youll be fine. I get about 12mpg, which sucks, but I love it so I dont care.

when i got mine the carfax report showed the PO was pretty good at keeping with the sched (he even replace front driveshaft)...so now i'm just trying to do whatever i can also.

R_Lefebvre

Expedition Leader

What?! 12mpg? That's what I get towing my big ************* trailer through the hills with a 17 foot canoe on the roof and one blown O2 sensor causing it to run rich.

Viggen

Just here...