Elephant Hill - Beef Basin - Lockhart - Hurrah Pass

Hayes

Observer
Howdy.
I'm new to the Expedition Portal--great stuff here. I've been posting on IH8MUD for a few years, so this might be a replay for some of you, but here's a trip report from a multi-day trip I took with my family this spring:

Just got back from a four-day family trip in the Canyonlands area. Planned months in advance, the trip was supposed to consist of my 4-member family unit in our 1993 FZJ80 and my father and brother in dad's Rubicon. Dad backed out at the last minute, so it ended up being me, my wife, my 4-year old, 21-month old, and my brother cozied up in the 80. Add these 5 homo sapiens, 10 gallons of H2O, 10 gallons of C8H18, cooler of High Life, cooler of food, and other assorted camping crap to a fully armored, winched and spare-tooled FZJ80, and you get a hefty little pig of a Land Cruiser.

The planned route was originally a transit from Blanding, north over the Dark Canyon Plateau and into Beef Basin followed by a couple days in the Elephant Hill area of the Needles District. From there we would continue north on the Lockhart Basin Road to the banks of the Colorado River at the mouth of Lockhart Canyon, then north, up and over Hurrah Pass with a camp on upper Kane Creek. The final day would be a trip up Kane Creek to the highway, then Moab.

07%20Hayes%20overview.jpg

Needless to say I was nervous to travel the route as a solo vehicle with two small children. After learning that the Dark Canyon Plateau roads were likely muddy and slick after a recent rainstorm, we took the conservative option of amputating the lower section of the route from our plan.