Expedition build platform

jmjnewbold

I'm new to off-roading, but I know what I would like to do. I am looking to build an expedition type vehicle with the capability to run trails like Rubicon and other legendary trails. Important factors to me are 1. the ability to comfortably seat my family of four. 2. Good aftermarket support. 3. Decent gas mileage. I have heard many good things about the Toyota Fzj80, but with a straight six gas mileage stinks. Is there a Land Rover with all the positives of the 80, but with mileage in the low 20's?

mongosd2

Adventurer
I'm new to off-roading, but I know what I would like to do. I am looking to build an expedition type vehicle with the capability to run trails like Rubicon and other legendary trails. Important factors to me are 1. the ability to comfortably seat my family of four. 2. Good aftermarket support. 3. Decent gas mileage. I have heard many good things about the Toyota Fzj80, but with a straight six gas mileage stinks. Is there a Land Rover with all the positives of the 80, but with mileage in the low 20's?

a diesle defender is the only thing LR makes that gets low 20's...

jmjnewbold

Can you purchase a diesel defender in the US? If so, does the defender have decent aftermarket support? What about off road capability?

spikemd

Explorer
LR never sold a diesel Defender in the US. You would have to get a conversion or imported truck. There are people importing Defenders 84 or older and getting the required docs to make them US legal. They come over in all conditions from $1000 vehicles to $60K. There are some diesel Defenders that people have already converted or you could do it yourself. I don't have a Defender, let alone a diesel, and I would imagine support for the diesel won't be as easy as support for a gas version.

Defenders have excellent offroad ability and plenty of upgrades available. The 90 is 2-door, the 110 is 4-door.