Give me the truth, are Land Rovers complete crap?

wmflyfisher

Observer
I've been debating on a Range Rover Sport for my next vehicle. Probably an 06-09 model due to my budget. I've owned Toyota's my whole life. Tacomas, 4runners, pickups, fj40's, you name it except for my latest truck which is a Chevy Z71 08 model that I use to pull my 20ft boat. I do like the Chevy but thought about trying something else for a change.

I have a company vehicle so this will not be a daily driver. I put about 5-8k miles on it a year. I've been looking at the RR sport but everybody I talk to says NO to Land Rovers unless I can get one that's still in the warranty period. What are your thoughts on this? I know your opinions may be skewed due to this site but I figured I'd get the real truth.

I've always worked on my own vehicles and I have 9 years of shop experience. I'm thinking if anything fails short of something major I should be able to take care of it myself vs going to the dealer.

I would most likely have to purchase one over the 100k mile mark.

Thoughts?

DiscoDavis

Explorer
Short answer: NO. Land Rovers are not crap.

They are NOT however toyotas that you can abuse and avoid maintenance for years. They do need more attention.

The 06-09 period was actually a very good time for QC, reliability went up dramatically. RR, RRS, and LR3 are good choices.

If you want one, look for the KBB price. Well-loved examples will cost more, abused ones cost less. Anything you think of buying, get it inspected at a Land Rover dealership. It will be a huge help in identifying areas needing attention/avoiding a money-pit.

As for DIY work, a lot of stuff has how-to's now, but you will likely need something like a GAP tool for the amount of computers these things have. Expensive but SO worth it.

Hope this helps :)

A.J.M

Explorer
If you want Toyota reliability. Buy another Toyota.