Max weight for my future build?

IamHUCK

Hello all. I am brand new to the forum and am pretty excited about it! I am wanting to build a custom offroad trailer to pull behind my 2008 Fj Cruiser 4.0l (35/12.50 Toyo MT).
Even with the lift and tires I seem to have plenty of get up and go on the highway. I am wondering what weight range i need to stay within on my build (empty and loaded). I obviously want to have plenty of gear but want to avoid as many issues offroad as possible. Specifically the sand and mud. The specs of the fj state a towing capacity of 5000lbs. I assume that means on pavement under ideal conditions. Any help would be great as I am a novice overlander and asparing gear head. Thanks.

IamHUCK

No? Nothing? Is there a better way i should ask my question? I really want to make sure i start with the right project. I have found a pioneer tool trailer from the late 70's. Endless possibilities. Do you guys think this set up would be too heavy for my fj and sandy muddy terrain?

Frankspinz

Adventurer
As you modify you FJ and load it up for a trip/expedition, this weight increase must be added to your towing capacity.
GWVR : 5566lbs, & Towing Capacity : 5000lbs... If you add both you get 10566lbs CGWR (combined gross weight rating). As you load up the FJ, you must reduce the trailer weight... But (as you've guessed) these figures are for on-road ! Unless someone has a scientific rule of thumb... you'll have to guestimate depending on the type of off-roading you plan to drive. I'd start at 75% CGWR and pile it on from there ...

(BTW- I don't pull a trailer)

tclaremont

Observer
I don't think the modifications are going to reduce your liablity if you tow over the vehicle's max rating. Some people are concerned about such things... and some people aren't.