My what to buy thread. Please help!

Miatch

Observer
So I have to buy a new vehicle and of course I need it to do everything well.

I live in the mid-west so we have tight trails and mud.
I have seven kids=never enough money or space.
I drive a little over 3,000 miles/month.
I drive real easy, so typically I get better MPG than most.

I want something that I can camp with 4 or 5 kids out of.
I coach soccer and always seem to have four kids and two big bags of balls.
I am a salesman and an American so I prefer to drive American vehicles.

So, a Suburban is the obvious choice. Preferably a Sub on 35"s. I am just scared to death that I will end up getting 10mpg, or worse.

Maybe a Jeep Commander?

What else should I consider?

RedF

Adventurer
Realistically, any 4x4 big enough to haul six people and enough gear for them is not going to be good on fuel. Buy a commuter car and forget about mileage.

Suburban or Excursion will be your only common choices. Maybe a full size 4x4 van?

rayra

Expedition Leader
Sounds like another 'Suburban' answer to me. If you are light on the pedal you can eke out 17mpg on the highway in the K1500 / 5.3L. And ours don't seem to care if they are empty or fully loaded, doesn't make noticeable difference in the mpg. Driving habits matter more. eta we get high 14s, mixed with mostly hwy driving
And unless you intend to tow a good bit or on the heavier end of things, you don't necessarily need the 2500 and it's bigger engines and lower fuel economy.

The GMT800s are a bargain, and/but are just starting to get long in the tooth. Better if you can turn your own wrenches, as parts are still abundant and cheap. A later 900 series will cost you nearly 3x as much. ~$20k for a 2009, vs say an '05. They'll both have around 100k mi when you find them. So that price premium wasn't something I was willing to pay for a used car with over 100k mi. And I don't care how old my ride looks, as long as it isn't shabby.