Need paddle advise

LandCruiserPhil

Expedition Leader
My wife has a Sevylor inflatable canoe and this past weekend we did a mild river trip(class 1-2). Is it me or do canoe paddles suck? Granted we have low end wood paddles. In the past I have had some experience in inflatable kayaks with Kayak paddles and it seems to me that a kayak paddle would be so much more efficient then a canoe paddle? Is it wrong to use a kayak paddle in an inflatable canoe?

RHINO

Expedition Leader
i run a 230cm paddle, my yak is 30" and sits lower in the water i'm sure than your inflatable, were not too far different in height or reach and i sometimes want a 240cm paddle. your welcome to try my 230cm out before you buy.

kerry

Expedition Leader
I think it partly depends on your paddling position and the height of the seat. If you're sitting on the bottom of the boat, a canoe paddle can be awkward. If you are kneeling or sitting higher than the bottom of the boat a canoe paddle is fine. Keep in mind that using a canoe paddle requires different strokes than a kayak paddle especially if you want to avoid switching sides.
But it's never 'wrong'. It all depends what you want to do in a specific set of circumstances.

paulj

Expedition Leader
It appears with that 'canoe' that you are still sitting low enough that a kayak paddle is best. A single blade paddle might work if you were kneeling. In a conventional canoe, you are seated within a few inches of gunwales, 10 or so inches above the water.

For an inflatable, a 4 piece kayak paddle is nice, since it packs to a size comparable to the packed boat. But it is also more expensive than a 2 piece.

Nullifier

Expedition Leader