New to this...

TacoTraveler

Adventurer
I am new to Expeditions and I wanted to know some general information.
I drive a 2002 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 5spd.
What are generally the first and most helpful modifications that you can do to enhance your vehicles abilities?

mtnbike28

Expedition Leader
welcome

first welcome to the group

second - what is your interests, that changes what (if anything) to do with the truck? There is a very varied group of folks here, with hobbies/interests going in every direction. Your truck is great in the stock form, so I think understanding what your goals are will help.

did you look at www.bajataco.com yet?

TacoTraveler

Adventurer
Well I live in the Panhandle of Florida so most of the stuff around here is a lot of sand. I am wanting to find other places within 3-4 hours away that will give me other terrain and such to try.
I currently have some 2.0 Sway-A-Ways that I bought used and are a little saggy but still give 1.5-2" of lift. My leaf springs out back are old, flat and worn out. I am using a 1.5" lift shackle out back. My tires are 265/75R16 that are by some brand I have never even heard of. These are decent offroad but are wearing unevely and are terrible on road.

No, I have not seen that website yet. I will check it out now. Thank you.

Overland Hadley

on a journey
Welcome to ExPo!

If you have street tires on your truck, going to off road tires (BFG AT or MT) would be a good first step. But as mtnbike28 said, it all depends on your interests.

What do you want to do with your rig?

TacoTraveler

Adventurer
I have used BFG AT's on a previous vehicle of mine and I loved them. My brother also uses BFG MT's on his Jeep and they are also great tires.
One thing that I was noticing on www.BajaTaco.com is that he is running a 32x11.50 made for a 15" rim. I have the exact same factory rims and mine are 16". Is he fitting a 15" tire onto a 16" rim?