Power Needed to Drag a Trailer Through the Backcountry

Cortttt

I'm transitioning from a GMC van with a 4.8L engine and a limited-slip that I've been boondocking in for quite a while to another Chevy/GMC van with 4wd and probably a locker towing probably a 3-5000 lb. trailer. Besides having 200K on it the present van doesn't do well on steeper hills and clearly doesn't have the power to tow a trailer when it gets a little sketchy (sandy, muddy).

I have no experience at all with 4wd. My question is how much power do I need to get that trailer through the somewhat sketchy dirt roads that I encounter in the desert and sometimes in the mountains. Since it looks like it's going to be a Chevy the power possibilities are:
  • 2.8L - 181@4200 hp; 369@2000 Torque; Towing capacity - 6000
  • 6.0 L - High: 362 hp @ 5400 RPM; 360 lb-ft @ 4000 RPM; towing capacity - 10,000 -
  • 6.6l - 401@5200; 464@4000, towing capacity - 10,000

The 2.8 is enticing because of the good MPG but I don't know if has the pulling power. I think, but don't know, that the 6.0 has good low-end torque. The 6.6l has better mpg than the 6.0 and excellent low end torque.

I believe they all have 3.42 gears.

Any ideas would be welcome :)

Last edited:

NatersXJ6

Explorer
It depends on how fast you want to go. In my experience, you will struggle more with freeway traffic and mountain roads at speed if you are under-torqued. Staying in lower gears means more rpm and more fuel, but if you are running slow on the back roads anyway, you never get to the higher gears where the low end torque really matters.

stevo_pct