Rebuild or Replace?

Boogalooper

So, I just started training to become an Automotive Maintenance Technician this week :wings: and soon (monday) we will be able to get our vehicles in the shop and start digging in.

So, my question is, should I take the tired old 4.0 which has an oil leak some where. It was ran out of oil at least once that I know of, and who knows when the last tune up was. And rebuild it, I would end up going through it with a fine tooth comb, seeing as we have 4 months in the shop this semester and we're focusing on engines.

Or, should I go with option 2. Which would be get a newer 4.0 (so in the future I can chip/tune it) and rebuild that before dropping it in.

Honestly either way I'm going to rebuild the 4.0 out of the 90 XJ, because I have a line on a '86 MJ for around $500 I've been thinking about buying, and if I do buy that I'll drop the 4.0 in there eventually.

Just seeing what you folks would do if you were in my position. I really want to have it running/driving well by the winter months, which really take off around December which is the end of this semester anyway.

Boogalooper

I do plan on going with a stroker, honestly I have no idea what that is, but I will look into it more.

I also plan on doing some performance mods in the future (we have a full semester on engine performance coming up) so at some point it will be all done.

Edit

So I looked it up, and I understand what it is now, pretty similar to what I was going to do any way, just now has a name to it.

Can anyone recommend any good kits, or have any info on what to watch out for? Or something you wish you may have done and didn't on a rebuild?

Last edited:

JPK

Explorer
A pita that I have run into -
So, you rebuild the top end and the bottom end - a complete, careful and thourough rebuild, the engine is good for another 150 0r 200k miles - but now your water pump leaks, or your distributor wobbles, or....