rovingowl's mild taco build

rovingowl

Observer
rovingowl's mild tacoma build

hello all. i decided to start a build thread to highlight some of the mods to my '07 tacoma. for a little background, i'm a frame to finish carpenter and this will be my dd as well. it will haul the tools for the trade and double as transport for camping and advenure travel. last year my girlfriend and i traveled in a large clockwise fashion from vermont south, throughout the southwest, up the west coast and headed back across the northern part of the u.s. we used her subaru outback wagon, as i didn't feel my '93 toyota xtracab was up to the task. having since traded it for the '07, we're next planning a trip through canada to alaska and back through the northern u.s. this rig won't see the extreme wheeling that some of you guys do, but i want to set up the taco to be as adventure worthy as possible without sarificing dependability.

being the frugal fella that i am, i opted for the base model with the v6 and automatic. i'm not a fan of all the power options and the only interests in the trd package were the locker and skid plates. i figured an arb locker and better than factory skids could be added later for less than the cost of the trd. the first addition was the leer canopy. it allows for lockable weather tight storage of both tools and gear. i like the cab high models personally. i also went with standard sliding side windows. this may be a downside if i add a rear bumper with a swingout tire carrier, but i deal with that when the time comes. i did get the thule roof bars and tracker system and am pleased so far.

IMG_2128.jpg
[/IMG]