West Fork San Gabriel River on Thursday? Kayaking

kellymoe

Expedition Leader
I am thinking of doing some paddling on the West Fork San Gabriel this Thursday. It's about 20 minutes out of Azusa. Pretty easy class 2 and 3. Anyone in the So Cal area care to join me?

teotwaki

Excelsior!
Even though I have a lowly sit on top kayak it sounds like it would have been fun. Unfortunately I am in Seattle right now and will head over to Denver tomorrow.

Do you only go on Thursdays? What about weekends?

kellymoe

Expedition Leader
Sorry, just got back from June Mountain. I did not go but do plan on going at some point. My schedule is flexible so if anyone wants to go give a shout. A sit on top would probably do ok on the East Fork.

wesel123

Explorer
Hey bud been interested in doing some white water in this area. I was talking to you a few months ago about alpacas and starting to learn to kayak the right way.

I have a 12' Dagger Crossover that ive been using for about 6 years, but never in anything bigger than a 2. Its rated for up to class 3.

If your up to baby sit a bit (and yes I can handle my boat) Id want to learn the right way.

Thanks

kellymoe

Expedition Leader
wesel123 said:
Hey bud been interested in doing some white water in this area. I was talking to you a few months ago about alpacas and starting to learn to kayak the right way.

I have a 12' Dagger Crossover that ive been using for about 6 years, but never in anything bigger than a 2. Its rated for up to class 3.

If your up to baby sit a bit (and yes I can handle my boat) Id want to learn the right way.

Thanks

Heck you can borrow one of my boats if you want. Even thought the Dagger would make it 12 feet is kinda long. I did both of these creeks in a Perception Dancer that was about that long and it was doable but with a shorter boat it is much more enjoyable. As soon as the weather warms in a week or two I plan on jumping on the river. I will let you know when.

Kevin

teotwaki

Excelsior!