What would you do to a Tacoma with 5k?

Celerrime

Hello! Long time reader, first time poster. I bought a mostly stock 2001 Tacoma last month. 2.7l, automatic 4x4. Not a TRD sadly, tho the PO did put the stickers on it. I'll try to post some pics later. I used to have a beat up TJ, but it was given to me and literally falling apart, so this is my first decent truck. Already planning my first trip with it to Colorado this spring!

I have a limited budget, as I graduated recently and am throwing most of my money at loans. With that said, I want to outfit my truck to be a daily driver that is also capable of 1-2 week long expeditions on/off road around United States/Canada/Mexico. Not a rock crawler, but capable of driving some moderate off road trails and living out of it. My budget is 5k over the next couple years.

With 5k being your budget, what would you upgrade first, and in what order? I've read numerous build threads of rigs with several $$$ in them. While they look amazing, I can't afford to go crazy, so I am looking for basic must haves that come from the experience of you veterans out there.

Last edited:

proper4wd

Expedition Leader
Good tires, make sure the suspension is in good shape, maybe a winch and recovery gear depending on what you're planning on doing (alone or with a group?) and just go explore!

troyboy162

Adventurer
1.tires that wont pop aka C, D or E rated and as large as your gearing and MPG will support.
2. camping gear
3.Armor the tender spots
4. moderate lift if you find you are on the skids all the time.
5. sliders only because #6 will make you take harder trails.
6. rear locker for control on moderate trails.

Clutch

<---Pass
Trip to Mexico.

$5K buys an awful lot of fuel, beer, and tacos. Stock tacoma will go a lot of places.

I keep my trucks basically stock...and only upgrade if I break something...and even then, might just replace it with stock components.