Overland Journal: Discovery I, 5-speed

Wander

Expedition Leader
Sorry for the repeat if this question has been answered-I'm new to the coil springs as I've got a IIa (series people argue over parabolics vs standard, but mostly we just pour another stout and enjoy the campfire)

On the CT DI's with the wolfs and XZL's what set up where they running?

David Harris

Expedition Leader
On the CT DI's with the wolfs and XZL's what set up where they running?

First, they weren't running Wolfs, they were running the standard solid steel wheels like Scott has, only the 5.5 inch wide versions. The tires were 7.00x16 (not the 7.5x16 as many say). So basically they were on 31's. The front springs were stock Disco diesel ones, on the rear they were running stock springs with some small coil helper springs inside the main coils, like on a 110. In fact, some have suggested that they were running the larger 110 main coils as well, but that would have meant changing the perches to the 110 ones. Don't know about this. As you can see from photos of them, there was no lift/very little from stock ride height. By way of comparison, I've attached a photo of my 96 D1 which has stock springs with LR isolators top and bottom on both ends, for a .75 inch lift. The tires are 245/75R16 like Scott's (31's). I have a camel cut as you can see. If I'm not loaded down too much, I can flex these tires all the way up without rubbing. I'm thinking about going to the LR factory extra heavy duty springs in the future for the same lift and more capacity.

Attachments

• cameltrophy-1.jpg
    cameltrophy-1.jpg
    34.2 KB · Views: 61
  • wwwcameltrophyvehiclescom_116.jpg
    wwwcameltrophyvehiclescom_116.jpg
    69.5 KB · Views: 62
  • 96 Disco.jpg
    96 Disco.jpg
    385.4 KB · Views: 110
Last edited:

Wander

Expedition Leader