1st Gen 4x4 Trekker build *opinions needed*

Magnum Johnson

Observer
First of all I want to say how much I love reading these forums and it has really contributed to me wanting to build a Expo vehicle. I figure that my truck will likely fit in here since it is mostly a 4runner...kinda...

I just purchased my first off road capable vehicle and I want to set it up as a pseudo expo rig the only problem is that im a total off road novice and im just looking for opinions, ideas, tricks, and tips. Im a decent fabricator, own a TIG and MIG welder, and former mechanic with a background in high horsepower domestic cars and Toyota Supra's.

My Supra for personal background ref.
http://s51.photobucket.com/albums/f387/IceMacchiato/Supra/

Now onto my little turd truck, its an 81' Toyota Trekker with:

Old school lift (dual shocks that beat you to death)
Rear auto locker (don't care much for it, but it works)
Provisions for a winch that is no longer there
Roof rack
Tube front bumper
31' Toyo At's with 3.90's (its geared too high but seems to be "ok")

The rest of the truck looks to be mostly stock and has working AC/Heat etc. It runs well and passed SMOG with room to spare.

Here is a list of work that will be done to it:

General engine/drivetrain rejuvenation.
Front knuckle rebuild
Front springs (flat)
U joints
Tie rod ends
Resealing most of the engine and transfer case seal
Marlin Clutch (when mine fails)
Replace seats with something that doesn't cause spinal damage
Possibly replace the clutch fan with an good electric fan
**Getting rid of the Dual shocks, need advise there**
Swing away spare tire carrier
Winch
Auxiliary tank in place of factory spare tire location
Rear Bumper (factory Trekker one is just dumb)
Some sort of Lighting, opinions needed.
Later on down the road im considering a TDI or 22RE/2.7 swap.