2012 Tacoma Doublecab work truck

hornytoad

Desert Geologist
IMG_2689.jpg

As she sits, 600 miles on the odometer ready for her first oil change.

17" Steel FJ cruiser wheels with 245 75 R17 BFG Comp TA rubber. SR5 package with a 5 speed automatic.

On order is a Leer 100r topper with windoors and a Thule rack system.

A matching Thule system for the cab for a total of 4 cross bars should allow me to build a flat platform strong enough for me to stand on.

Later this year I can see ordering a ARB front bumper and maybe trekking to Bend OR to get CES to make one of their magic 35 gallon tanks for me.

I'm a geologist traveling around southern NM and will be building the truck for that purpose. I plan on putting 30-50k miles a year on the truck and will see how long she last. Suspension parts and tires will probably be the first thing to get beat down so I can see putting a set of shocks/tires on the truck every year or so.

deadbeat son

Explorer
Your Tacoma should be an excellent platform for your intended purpose. If you carry quite a bit of weight for work, you may end up looking for a solution to the weak factory rear springs. I'm looking forward to seeing how things hold up for you over the miles.

If you're curious what your truck will look like with the 100R, here you go:
IMG_1395.jpg

My shell is actually the 100XR, but the only difference is the rear window; also, I have no windoors.

hornytoad

Desert Geologist
kitchensinkitis....

I'v had a F150 7700 and a 2010 Taco extended cab company trucks that I have overloaded trying to "be prepared" for everything. Being an eagle scout with a company credit card is not a good thing.

Owning my own business now means I have to justify everything to myself, my wife and our book keeper. So I'm trying to just "use it" as much as possible and upgrade the truck as parts break.