80 Series Critical Spares

Mr. Leary

Glamping Excursionaire
So I'm a noob to everything 80 series... and I don't know much about them apart from some common complaints.

I will be using my 80 as the mule / support vehicle for our upcoming trip to Overland Expo. It will be a long trip, and out route to the Expo will cover roughly 1400 miles, mostly dirt.

My 80 (and the other one on the trip) are almost bone stock, except for OME 2" lift and 33s.

Critical spares?

I'm not a Mud wizard, so those who are proficient, please be gentle.

ltngaines

Adventurer
So I'm a noob to everything 80 series... and I don't know much about them apart from some common complaints.

I will be using my 80 as the mule / support vehicle for our upcoming trip to Overland Expo. It will be a long trip, and out route to the Expo will cover roughly 1400 miles, mostly dirt.

My 80 (and the other one on the trip) are almost bone stock, except for OME 2" lift and 33s.

Critical spares?

I'm not a Mud wizard, so those who are proficient, please be gentle.

Hey, I had a 93 and loved it very little problems with 80s just the basic stuff and it should do you well. I have not a thing bad to say about land cruisers they have a strong history with little problems. You will have a hard time killing it.

Expedition Leader
What year is your 80 Mike?

These trucks have few issues and you won't need to carry many specific spares. One of my sons is still driving my '91 FJ80 with well over 250,000 miles and it has never needed any major work of any kind. An alternator and a radiator in all that time. I would drive that truck across the country tomorrow without a second thought or more than ordinary preparation.

hieronymus

Adventurer
I did 9000km's on a recent trip and the only thing that happened was a hydraulic hose from the powersteering that cracked and I lost all the oil.....