As a freezer, Engel 84 vs Snomaster Expedition 95 vs Dometic CFX 100w

I'm still having trouble deciding. I'm a field biologist in the SW, so hot hot summers, generally warm winters with so so sun. I have 981w on my sprinter 4x4, but a lot of that is earmarked for the window unit AC I want to install. So efficiency is important. Cost is all within a few hundred of each other, so not important. Ability to maintain frozen ice cube temps is. Also, speed of cooling is nice, but I realize that usually means a more powerful, less efficient compressor. I own an ARB 50 as a fridge, and have used a Whynter 85 as a freezer. The ARB cools unevenly, but good enough. The whynter froze great, but wasn't very efficient.

The Engel is supposedly the most efficient compressor, and the most reliable over the long term. I wish the bastards would release the platinum series here in the US. Mediocre insulation means compressor has to kick on more often.

I know of no published tests or numbers on the snomaster. I do like the 70mm of insulation on it. Means the less efficient compressor kicks on less. Are these the same as edgestar/whynter/etc?

The Dometic seems fine. Better than the other unlisted brands here, but how does it compare to the above 2?

What do you smarter than I folks think?

john61ct

Adventurer
They're all going to be pretty close in energy usage if you factor the cubic space and effective temp differential.

Much bigger difference between them in build quality though.

Go for the Engel.

67cj5

Man On a Mission