Composition Guidelines?

DesertBound

Observer
This site features some of the best nature photography I've seen; most of the photos I've seen here put my best efforts to shame. My wife takes very nice photographs, but she's never been able to articulate the process she follows when composing a picture.

Any guidelines for a photography neophyte when it comes to composing a shot?

Scott Brady

Founder
Technically, I am a traditionally trained photographer with lots of time spent on fundamentals, but others here capture much better images than me (Stephanie and Chris come to mind), so there are good systems to use, but nothing can replace the artists eye.

Start with the rule of thirds and compose your image with the subject in one of the outside eight blocks.

With motion, give room in front of the subject to imply movement (moving into the open space).

MED_white_rim.JPG

Try not to split a horizon across the middle of an image, but give more sky or foreground.
MED_mojave_overlook.JPG

I do a poor job of getting into the details of things (close up shots), so I have taken a lesson from Brandenburg and shoot each scene from three perspectives.

Wide angle, where the subject is small and looks fragile in the expanse of nature around it
MED_altar_dune_shadow.jpg

A mid range shot, where the subject captures a big chunk of the realestate and it tells a clear story.
MED_altar_team.JPG

And then dive into some detail of the surroundings to add interest and a connection with the landscape or subject
MED_altar_desert_life.JPG

Force yourself to do that with each scene or stop. It is pretty cool what results.

On the Arctic trip, we had two bodies, one with a 24-105L and the other with a 70-200L. Chris and I switched off with whatever camera we grabbed. Made for some really cool perspectives, as Chris and I are pretty different photographers. Together, the result was much better than we could have done alone.

Hope this helps :)

smbisig

Adventurer
expeditionswest said: