Concealing fiberglass flaws

Haraald

Observer
I'm building a custom bathroom and sleeping pod in the bed of my truck that's plywood with fiberglassed seams so it's all smooth and seamless like a shower stall. Problem is I'm an amateur and after a ton of sanding (and an infected eyelid because of the dust), it's still a bit bumpy with exposed cloth here and there. Is there a way to cover the flaws up so when I paint the whole thing white it looks smooth and not like a theme park cave? West Marine sells 'build up' marine primer that I was going to apply; maybe 3 coats, but it's expensive.

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_0023.jpg
    IMG_0023.jpg
    510.2 KB · Views: 30
  • IMG_0004.jpg
    IMG_0004.jpg
    536.7 KB · Views: 31

joelbert

Adventurer
At the end of the day, why does it matter that much?

Once it's waterproof and can be just wiped down. It's probably just you and your SO, spend more time/$ on camping and just let it go as the best you could do... I don't think anyone is going to critique it or tell you it could be better.

My .02$

Stumpalump

Expedition Leader
On boats smooth glass that comes out of a mold has layers of thick smooth gel coat sprayed first. Areas where where bulk heads,engine stringers or cabinets are attached to the glass hull it looks like yours. Grind it smooth as you can then coat the exposed glass mat with a resin coat. Paint it with bilge paint. It will be bumpy compaired to your home tub but so are million dollar yachts that have glassed in areas. The smooth you see was touching the mold not the hand laid glass and resin. You can also speckle paint it if you want it invisable.

Last edited:

Ducky's Dad

Explorer