Considering an AWD Toyota Sienna

ovʀʟxnᴅ

My work commute is now about 25 miles a day. It's not bad, but for the last 20 years I lived and worked just minutes apart. That, and wanting to make more long distance trips, made me start thinking about adding something more conventional to add to my personal fleet.

I didn't set out to have multiple vehicles, but you know how it goes: you have your primary rig, you have a raggedy pickup truck for home projects and side jobs, then your wife gets something new and you keep her old vehicle as a spare so you don't have to finish all the work on your primary rig over a weekend...

It has been years since I've actively pursued challenging trails. These days, I'm usually just wanting to enjoy a drive and find a good dispersed site before dark so I can settle in while there's still some daylight.

On a whim, I started looking at mini vans. As a young driver, I added a lot of miles to my mom's 93 Astro Van, so I already have a soft spot for such a platform. Finding AWD options got me even more excited. Then I found that there are 2" and 3" lifts available for the Sienna. Like anything with a lift, I'm sure it shortens the life of critical driveline components, but I can't shake the idea of just how practical something like this would be for me.

I'd keep the GX and continue to build it, but a new, fuel efficient vehicle as a daily driver and road trip rig... Could be the move.

I thought I'd start a conversation to see if any of you are running a lifted Sienna or comparable. If so, what parts have needed increased maintenance? Have you found it lacking what you needed from it on the trails you've chosen?

362223403_10224523491497939_4921585501673013820_n.jpg

sienna.jpg

Last edited:

RVflyfish

Fishing is life. The rest is details.
I loved my sister’s AWD Sienna. I think she still regrets giving it up in her divorce. No experience with a lift, but I fully support your idea!

ovʀʟxnᴅ