Montero by Gophere

gophere

Adventurer
lisahighrock026.jpg

highrockpano.jpg

Hey, I was holding off to import a truck, but I found a good one here.
1998 montero with all the goodies.
I will post some pick when I take them.
Thanks, oh and its White!

I dont know much..........

Last edited:

tdesanto

Expedition Leader
Sweet. Can't wait to see it. Sliders? I'm not sure anyone makes them in the US. But, they're not hard to have made by any competent fabricator.

Cambo

Adventurer
Congrats! I am pretty new to Mitsu's also, but so far there is lots to love. Did you get the Montero or Montero sport? Not familiar with the 2.5, I am guessing thats the 4 cylinder? If so you won't have the locker and if it is the regular Montero you can swap the rear end from a 3.5 with the 9.5" rear end with air locker. Lots of fun mods to do! Lets start with some pics though. :smiley_drive:

gophere

Adventurer
-OK: Heres the low down on my montero
1998 with 130,000 White:wings:
3.5l SOHC V6 Auto
Activetrac 4WD
Factory rear air locker
3-mode variable shocks
A/T mode changeover switch

It goes in on the 1st to Portland Mitsubishi for a update on the preventive stuff and I am going to get a set of 31-10.50s this weekend. This is going to be a great truck!
-Any suggestion on a good set of Tires? I ran Revos for years on my XJ but this Montero is totally different and I would like to try something different.
-The Activetrac locked up a bit when I 1st tried it but it works great now!
-I want an ARB bumper but the RockRails need to come 1st

tdesanto

Expedition Leader
I think you're right on target with prioritizing the sliders over the bumper for now, if you must choose. Also, I'd recommend waiting on the bumper until you can get the winch too. Now, for the gen 2.5, I think you'll need a small amount of fabrication done to get the ARB bumper to fit.