My Boomerang 1st Gen 4runner build

dorton

#rockcreekoverland
I sold this one about 3 years ago, and was recently called by the person that purchased it from me. He was wanting to dump it because
it had a blown head gasket just past the current 300k mark. I was excited, because when I sold it the first time, it was almost by accident. I had priced it jokingly, and within a couple days the buyer showed up with cash in hand...

Fast forward to present day. I purchased it and took it to where I work as a service manger at a small toyota store here in NC.
I bore scoped it, and confirmed a leaking cylinder head gasket into #3. Just for giggles I pulled the valve cover and cranked down the head bolts tighter than specs. So far, 300 miles later, and it hasn't used a drop of coolant.

It was also in bad need of both front wheel bearings when I got it back, so that was taken care of that same day. The idler arm has plenty of slack, so bushings are on the way. Other than aesthetics, and trim the rig isn't in too bad of shape.

Had it out this weekend with wife, little girl, and dog enjoying the weather and snapped some pics

6852358120_289abef71c_z.jpg

6852358118_0bf17bd240_z.jpg

6852358116_1251a243a9_z.jpg

My inspirations for building up a rig for future camping/exploration
6852358112_93bd27e1f0_z.jpg

6852409844_e742081c50_z.jpg

I've got an E-locker i've had stashed away for a bit that will be going in, along with 4.88s front and rear. I'm wanting to keep this one IFS, and may install an ARB in the front when it goes together.

6852416896_f6475d1b7d_z.jpg

Up soon will be rock sliders, and bumpers front and rear, along with a winch

When I bought it back, I had full intentions of installing a new OEM short block, ported cylinder head w/ oversized valves, but I hate taking this one out as good as its running. On my first tank, corrected for tire rollout, I averaged 22mpg.