Newb What military platform is the best starting point

Sikocycles

Adventurer
I am new here but read many threads. I have no welding or fab experience but I am pretty good fixing and figuring out things. I want a camping offroad trailer but I dont see how I could build from scratch so what is the best platform to start with.
It will be pulled with a 07 FJ Cruiser or a new tacoma once I get one.

I dont want anything too big or heavy. Want a RTT and room to carry things.

What would you suggest to look for?

Thank you

cwadej

just a guy
You ask for best military platform, then say not big or heavy. Cant have the first without the other two. Military rarely considers fuel economy in a vehicle, so they are overbuilt, which adds a bunch of weight. Military tactical vehicles are quite wide. as are the trailers.

What are the priorities? Military or small and light? To go behind the FJ, go small and light.

Titanpat57

Expedition Leader
I am new here but read many threads. I have no welding or fab experience but I am pretty good fixing and figuring out things. I want a camping offroad trailer but I dont see how I could build from scratch so what is the best platform to start with.
It will be pulled with a 07 FJ Cruiser or a new tacoma once I get one.

I dont want anything too big or heavy. Want a RTT and room to carry things.

What would you suggest to look for?

Thank you

Sometimes a good way to work it, is what would you set as a limit on what you want to tow?...1000#..1500#...2000# or more? Then what is your budget like, that also will determine where you're headed right away. Assess what equipment you already have vs. what you really need/want/can't live without. How far off road do want to go...fire roads, class 4 roads, rock crawling?

Fill in some of those blanks, and you'll start to get a sense of what you need.

Sikocycles

Adventurer
Off road ready so I am thinking military. Looking for a m416 or m101.
What's small and light that is off road ready

Titanpat57