So show me your bedding!

WU7X

Snow on the Roof
I've been using a Columbus RTT for over 12 years now. I have loved it's clamshell, easy open and close, design, rugged durability, and easy maintenance the entire time. We added a 1-1/2" thick memory foam topper to the mattress, cotton flannel sheets, and a thick goose down comforter and slept like royalty all over North America in it. Only a couple seconds to open it and crawl in. Bedding ready to go. A minute or two to close, and we are off on another day of adventure.

But, alas, She Who Must Be Obeyed has decided that now that we are in our mid-60's, we (meaning SWMBO) no longer wants to climb up and down the required 6+ feet when using that incredible RTT in the middle of the night anymore. After discussing (that's a nice word for it) alternatives, we picked up a neat little trailer with a huge fold-over RTT. The benefit of this setup is one can literally jump out of the tent without damaging aging limbs. But Carumba! It takes forever to open and close, and I cannot figure out how bedding can remain in there when not in use.

blue-trailer-w-black-wheels-rotated-2-Medium-600x400.jpg Our new rig looks like this, except in a more manly black color. :)

So, the question to all you experts is: How do you manage to get sheets, comforter, etc. in this thing, especially when opening and closing it? Or are we now doomed to using only sleeping bags or other uncivilized forms of nightly comfort?

p.s. I'm keeping the Columbus for now. If I can't get this figured out, the new tent will be unbolted and replaced my the old setup.

Last edited:

JIMBO

Expedition Leader
:sombrero: We have the Tepui RTT mounted on our Tentrax trailer and -

I leave an 8" airmattress/"0" degree double sleeping bag/pillows inside all the time--no trouble/delays/setup time, because it all closes up neatly-

001_zps4e707e65.jpg

007_zps7705eb3b.jpg