Tent Recommendations

ttora4runner

Expedition Leader
Need some recommendations on 2 to 3 man tent.

Currently, I have an Ozark Trail (Walmart Tent) that I've been using since highschool (11 years ago :Wow1:) and during some recent trips I've noticed how little protection from the elements it provides (on a recent trip the small rain cover about ripped off in a wind storm) and it's not the easiest thing to setup by one person. That and the fiber-glass feel like I'm going to break them when putting the tent up.

I've searched though about 10 pages of this section of the forum so far but it seems most discussions focus around roof top tents.

So what I'm looking at is trying to find a 2-3 man tent or slightly bigger that's easy enough for one person to setup and provides better protection from the elements?

stankfoot

Adventurer
i have the NEMO Losi 3P and love it. it is designed for backpacking. a little pricey but hands down the best tent i have ever owned. would not hesitate to buy NEMO anything again. cannot say enough about their products.

http://www.nemoequipment.com/

Momo

At the risk of sounding cliche, it's hard to go wrong with an REI tent IMO... we have two that have held up well and have been pretty comfortable. Quick setup and breakdown too. Whatever you get, check craigslist for sure, there are great deals to be had.

Here's one of the ones we have... http://www.rei.com/product/810122

Also, think about going one person bigger than you think you need... the extra space can be really nice to have.

Last edited:

Xterabl

Adventurer
ahem. do not go with rei hobitat 4 person.
for less money, i went with Kelty GreenRiver II 4 persona and it is much beter, for more than a couple reasons (mostly, size for $$$). Check it out.

762X39

Explorer