Using a high output alternator to rapidly charge house battery bank

adam88

Explorer
Hi all,

Let me start by saying I am a total newbie when it comes to wiring/electrical. I am trying to wrap my head around the best way to charge a battery bank FAST. I'll keep this post short so as not to waste anyone's time.

My house battery system will have a 1020ah battery bank (4x255ah lifeline AGM batteries). I won't have any solar to begin with, or a generator, and will be relying solely on my truck's alternator for charging.

I want to upgrade to a 300 amp alternator, which will put out about 225 amps at idle I believe (XPS 300).

This is where I get lost. To me, how would I pull a dedicated amount of amps off of that alternator at all times to the house battery bank. Like if I wanted to hook up directly to the alternator and pull off 100 amps at all times. That would be 1200w (or 1440? assuming 14.4 volts?) theoretically I guess. Now I understand that power would be lost from the wire running from the truck to the back of the cab (camper), but I would use thick gauge wire for that.

Realistically, assuming this scenario, if I pulled 100 amps off the alternator, with a 6 foot run of wire through the cab/chassis to the camper (whatever gauge), how many amps could be pumped into the battery bank? Roughly how many, let's say, at 50% discharge, 70% discharge and 90% discharge? How can I learn this math?

Am I looking at this logically/correctly? And what would I need between the battery bank and the alternator to make this work to pull this off the alternator, a 100 amp charger?

Educate me please :) .... I am naïve.

calicamper

Expedition Leader