What's the Trick to getting Good Shots?

Stan the Man

Adventurer
I'm relatively new to this big camera thing, but I don't feel like I can get a good shot if my life depended on it. Maybe its because some of you use quality image editing software and I don't have that. I think the more realistic thing is that my settings aren't set correctly; wrong aperture, shutter speed, white balance, etc. Help me learn!!

Some shots from tonight, one original and a couple more adjusted with iPhoto:

Original
4048506083_316b72f324_b.jpg

Adjusted
4048499011_5b76dcb1bd_b.jpg

Adjusted
4049245834_177e126e63_b.jpg

Original
4049253134_c0997d7ded_b.jpg

I'm shooting with a Canon T1i that I just got. I'm new to the SLR world, and I'm eager to learn. :ylsmoke:

IdaSHO

IDACAMPER
Basics, basics, basics.

Basics of photography is all about one thing. LIGHT.

Most people have to make a choice to capture enough light to provide a proper exposure. Either a "fast" lens, or a long exposure.

The rest of them have both and have spent $$$$ on equipment.

For the shots you are dealing with, you can easily afford a long exposure as there is going to me no movement in your subject. I would also crank down the f-stop to increase the focal range.

photoman

Explorer
Photography is a huge subject to try and learn. You are best served by learning the basics of composition and how to shoot your camera in manual mode to have the most control over the camera.

There are of course bigger cameras, better lenses, and hundreds of programs but if you don't know the basics you are just taking more expensive crappy pictures.

Of what you posted there is nothing wrong with the first two. The sky is exposed nicely and you can see the city lights which are pretty clear. The biggest issue with them is there is not a strong subject matter to draw your interest. If you find a photo you like- take a minute and think about what you like about it. Does the photo naturally lead you to a specific area or around the image?