1996 dodge 3500: Swiss Army knife

DieselDaddy

So I have been lurking here for years and honestly haven’t had much to contribute so I kept my mouth shut. I’m a builder and master diesel tech for about the last 25 years. Bought and sold dozens of these trucks but for some reason this one spoke to me. It was purchased as a rust free 96. 12v Cummins, nv4500 2wd truck. The fun part about these trucks is that they have a dead axle in the front. Just an open housing. No gears or shafts. It is however, exactly the same size as a live axle. This one has a fresh mild build in the engine and a recently rebuilt 5 speed. So with a price tag I couldn’t turn down she came home with me. Here’s where I started.

Attachments

• IMG_4330.jpeg
    IMG_4330.jpeg
    2.7 MB · Views: 35
  • IMG_4378.jpeg
    IMG_4378.jpeg
    2.9 MB · Views: 35

DieselDaddy

The first thing was to add tires and wheels. Now the 3500 dodge will single out very easily. I used HUMMWV 24 bolt wheels and mt Baja tires thst I sourced locally with 100 percent tread and current date codes. I also removed the run flat and installed a set of trailworthy fab pvc beadlock spacers. At about that time the affordable off-road front bumper came in. It it a modular unit and I wasn’t sure how I was going to like it. The design makes a lot of sense once you see it in person, if the side is damaged, it can be replaced very easily. I had the Apex 12,000 pound winch sitting in my shop in the box from the last time Harbor freight had a big sale.

Attachments

• IMG_4418.jpeg
    IMG_4418.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 37
  • IMG_4417.jpeg
    IMG_4417.jpeg
    4.3 MB · Views: 37
  • IMG_4416.jpeg
    IMG_4416.jpeg
    5.2 MB · Views: 37

DieselDaddy