Alaskan Camper on local Craigslist

omaha_rick

Observer
howdy all, i am a newb and lookin into multiple options for a mild offroad camper rig. my truck is a 1989 K2500 with a deitroit 6.2L, and i am on the fence to build a custom trailer or put a slide in camper onto the truck. then this appears:

http://omaha.craigslist.org/rvs/2260582246.html

i know very little about these campers so i hoped one of you had more info, like a fair price to offer. any help is appreciated.

-rick

dwh

Tail-End Charlie
Wow a 10 footer non-cabover. That's a very sweet camper. If there's no water damage or rot I would think it'd be a damned good deal at a thousand.

But that's just me. I actually have no idea of the market value. You might ask on this forum (though maybe keep it to yourself where the camper is so someone doesn't snake it out from under you :) ):

http://www.wanderthewest.com/forum/index.php?/forum/18/

fisher205

Explorer
That's a 60's model and maybe even older. Near the back door should be a plate that tells where it was built. Check underneath along the back edge, vents, the door and window frames, and the corners for rot. If you see any leaking it probably got pretty wet. It probably will need the seals between the two halves replaced but that is an easy repair and needs to be done over 4-5 years. Hoe this helps

Brad

Tennmogger

Explorer
A 10' NCO built in 1971 is what I use. My wife and I really like it. I agree that $1k would be a reasonable price if the camper is not rotted out, but if there's any water damage inside (be sure to raise the sides to look at the interior) then cut the price because a lot of work might be needed.

The wooden Alaskans take a beating and survive. One problem though is twisting of the truck bed if in rough terrain. No camper can take much of that, but the Alaskan does better than most.

Check out the Truck Camper Magazine below for pictures of mine. I know of two other Alaskans on Unimogs and they 'work'.

Bob

omaha_rick

Observer