Choosing my first overland vehicle

phobucket

Observer
Hi all,

I'm new to overlanding and am looking for a good vehicle to take myself and my boys (4 and 7) on adventures. We live in NorCal and I picture us mostly going on trips that are 1-5 days long around the western states. Maybe longer in a few years. The car would be my only vehicle, so not leaving me stranded is important, but I can walk to work, so gas mileage is not that important. I don't have a place to wrench right now, but hopefully will in about a year.

I don't think we'll be wheeling per se, but I do picture some fairly remote camping. On the other hand, I picture a lot of road miles too as we do mini social science adventures. Trying to find one vehicle that can do it all reasonably well for the next 4-5 years.

Right now I'm driving a Mini Clubman S. Need a touch more space ;) Also I'm tired of driving stick in traffic through the Calderón tunnel, so an automatic is high in the list of priorities.

My short list includes:

2008 LR3 SE - 36k miles for $21,000
I nearly bought an LR3 and like the way they drive. The 3rd row seats could come in handy.

2013 Nissan Xterra Pro-4X - new at just under $28k. I also like how these drive. The interior isn't as posh, but the plastic rear cargo area seems like it would really suit me. Having a warranty for the next few years would be sweet too.

2003ish Discovery - So much character for so little money and the size is perfect, but I wonder if I am really just asking for trouble if I don't have a garage. In theory, I could buy a second car as a runabout, but not having a payment would rock.

Things I have ruled out include a 4runner (too much money), a Tacoma (need internal vs external storage), and a JKU (too many problems with previous Chryslers, didn't like how the Rubicon felt on the highway)