Iphone topo maps apps

preacherman

Explorer
Just came out two days ago a new I phone "topo maps" app with real USGS topo 1:24,000 scale maps. I just saw it and am downloading it now.....

http://topomapsapp.com/

looks wayyyyyyyy cool (this is a different app than the older app for topo)

dustboy

Explorer
I've been using Topo Maps for a few months now and while it started out basic, the developer has been steadily upgrading the app about once a month. I have had trouble getting a GPS position when out of the network, but I think that's a weakness of the iPhone's GPS receiver. I can confirm that it does work (sometimes) out of network. The biggest shortcoming I can see for Topo Maps is that it is a stand-alone app and can only download the quads to the iPhone. It would be a lot faster to find the quads you needed if you could download them on your computer and sync them to the iPhone. Also, no waypoints.
I'll be curious to see what anyone else has to say about the other apps, I'm hesitant to sink $$ into one unless I know it will be better than Topo Maps.

Anna

New iPhone app in store

Hi Everyone,

I thought you might be interested in my new iPhone app which launched yesterday, Gaia GPS (http://www.gaiagps.com)

The app includes topo tiles of the US and Canada (including Alaska) from myTopo.com, which I think are better than national geographic tiles. You can download areas of map for offline use by drawing a rectangle, and then tiles at all zoom levels within the rectangle are downloaded. At the maximum zoom level, the tiles are 1:24,000.

The app also includes a GPS Recorder, a searchable list of 10,000,000 waypoints, and streetmap tiles from CloudMade. You can export tracks and geotagged photos in gpx format via email or to EveryTrail.com.

The app costs 2.99 and map downloads within the app are free. I'm working on the first update now, so if you check it out and let me know what you think, I'll try to add the features you want.

Thanks,
Anna

Last edited: