Tacoma is a dog, should I think twice before adding FWC?

frstnflt

Hey all,
I have a new 2017 Tacoma DCSB 6MT. I traded down from a Ram 1500 because it is nimble, more fun to drive(and park), I rarely haul anything and have a short commute, but mostly because it is a MANUAL. I am new to this. This will be a weekend warrior rig.
The plan is to add a FWC Swift next month, inch or 2 lift, slight increase in tire size
Some questions for the experienced:
It is great to drive but the torque is disappointing. It seems to have no balls under 3400 rpm. Is that normal? Will this rig be able to get out of its own way? Will it even be able to pass someone on a 2 lane road? Should I regear this thing or do some other performance mods?
Fuel mileage is not a huge concern, but why is it so mediocre for a compact truck? An F-150 ecoboost 3.5 can easy manage low 20s MPG
Will a lift/level kit and airbags be adequate? It will only see gentle off road conditions.

phsycle

Adventurer
You’ll want to find another truck to stick that Swift on. Just installing the camper eats up all payload. That’s before taking driver/passenger and other cargo into account.

robert

Expedition Leader
There are a lot of things I like about my Tacoma but the fuel economy absolutely sucks, especially when full sized trucks are getting much better mileage with more room, weight, hp and torque. Add in the low payload and all of the issues Toyota has had with their American made models (includes the Tacoma) and I'd probably look at a larger truck for hauling even a lightweight camper. Today's Toyotas just aren't the same as the Japanese built models of yesterday or today.

MattF350

Observer
Had same issue with my Dakota. Those trucks are good for 4wd, but not a whole lot else.
I stepped up to an F350 and wont look back. MPG is less but more capable of doing pretty much everything else.

Adventurous

Explorer