The Back Country Camper Build, small & simple

Gunslinger1

Observer
I am new to the expo sight and have been scanning the pop up truck camper section for 12 pages looking for a plywood build slide in pop up to no avail. The plywwod composite method of building is very easy once you build a small project to get use to it and seems it would be the best way to build a project pop up which is my plan. I built a small 14ft plywood coposite boat with great results from epoxy resin and plan to build the camper with polyester resin which is much cheeper and just as easy to work with. Polyester resin is made for above the water line in boat construction. I found a couple threads that were started then stopped after the build got started. Has anyone on here built a slide in pop up with the stich and glue method start to finish. I need to know what thickness plywood and where the braces will have to be. Would be nice to have some plans to go by like on the boat. That made the build real simple. Im not sure where the stress points will be on the camper. My build will be a slide in that pops up in the back with canvas in between. My plan is to have a couch down one side that folds out to a double bed with porta potty then a counter top down the other side with sink at rear and a portable stove beside it. Its for a reg cab 2011 Tacoma 4x4 and will need to be off road tough. Any construction help would be greatly appreciated. My build sheet at this point has 1/4" exterior plywood on a 2x2 frame resin covering the outside with cloth on all corners. I plan to have a 18" overhang on the cab using one 8ft sheet of plywood down each side so as not have any seems. Each panel will be a solid piece of plywood. Resin then paint no need for aluminum siding.

Last edited:

Gunslinger1

Observer
No plans ?