New to me 2000 KLR650

Clark White

Explorer
Well here she is!
KLR.jpg

Something like 1900 miles on the clock (spedo cable had come unscrewed ~200mi ago apparently). I just screwed it back in, so what ever. Might have more miles on it then the guy claims, but I doubt it (hes an old machinist who seams really honest). She is bone stock right now, not even the doohickey done. I already ordered the doohickey, a skid plate, and some handlebar dampeners. The guy also has a pair of really nice soft panniers I'm going to get tomorrow for $40. Probably goin to make my own rack for them, get a tank bag, and crash bars with HWY pegs, maybe a taller windshield, and call it good. Oh, and it came with a pretty big rear bag too. :wings:

Clark

Last edited:

emohn

Observer
Hey, nice KLR!!!

I just picked up a new-to-me 2000 KLR650 a couple weeks ago as well. Same color scheme, though your plastics aren't nearly as faded and beat up as mine.

792221499_dyGyp-L.jpg

I'm a novice rider, but so far I've found the KLR to be exactly the bike I needed. Not too much power for a beginner, but cruises along at 65 comfortably on the highway, and seems quite at home in dirt and rocks. Mine's definitely got a few more miles than yours (just shy of 30k), but the previous owner was a great guy with meticulous service records. Mine's done all the major continental divide passes around Colorado and has logged many more miles across the Baja penninsula. I can only hope to give it as much room to stretch its legs as the previous owner.

Not to steer anyone away from hanging out on ExPo, but you should definitely check out ADVrider.com if you haven't already. Great bunch of folks and a LOT of good KLR and general dualsport/adventure riding tech.

Congrats on the purchase!

-Erik

Clark White

Explorer
Hey, I swear I've seen that bike somewhere! LOL. I actually have the same thread going over on ADV, joined up as soon as I decided I was definitely getting a bike.

Clark

jh504

Explorer